Curtains that Change

I find that working with large pieces of fabric is sometimes more difficult for me than reworking something else. I got double blackout curtains from my neighbor. She was out shopping one day and thought of my DIY with fabric and bought them for me. I am always happy and grateful when people are kind and generous and help me expand my Collection. Around the same time I was organization and found a  immense amount  batting from former projects and an old sheet that I intended to use as mock up fabric. The combination of these things made me think… I pillow.

img_0772

Because this fabric was nice I did not want to make it the pillow itself, as I would not be able to wash it. The sheet became the pillow and I have just enough fabric.

img_0760-2

I iron the fabric, line up the edges, and pinned it together right sides together. I used the smallest setting of the zig-zag stitches because they will have the most wear and tear put on them. I sewed the two long sides and one short side, clipped the corners, turned right side out and pressed the edges.I then filled it with the 6 partial bags of batting. I need to stop saving things for later, silly me.

The pillow was stuffed and the last side was sew together with a blanket stitch.

img_0759

The curtain was making the pillow covers, I decided to make two different patterns. I make sure to cut the curtain a little bigger than the pillow so I could actually get the covers on. The stripes on the covers go in different directions and I also put a colored stripe, light blue and white. Each stripe was 1.5″ wide. All the layers were sewn together and ironed.

The pillow and pillow covers for a body pillow were completed. Now I’m ready for bed.

Because these were double blackout curtains I have much fabric that has been returned to the Collection for another day and another project. Let me know your ideas.

img_0783

 

Leave a comment