Spring Around the Corner

Last night I had a project all set up and ready to go. I needed one final pieces so I went to the Collection  to find the right piece. Instead I found another project asserted itself. It sounds like the clothing have a mind of their own, they do not. But they were inspiring, so I put the original project aside and starting this one.

While going through the closet there were pieces that spoke to me.

The Stats:

  • Brown Dress: $3 ,55% Ramie, 45% Cotton
  • Light Green Batik: $4, 100% Rayon
  • Teal Material:$3, 55% Cotton, 45% Rayon
    • Total: $10

I started by dissembling both full garments, ironing everything, and laying out all the pieces on the floor to see what I had. I made a paper template out of left over papers and I have used for designing to create a pattern that I can use again. Finally I was ready to start cutting out the dress.

7

I then started to sew everything together. I had to remember to sew the small blocks together first and then the large ones.

The dress that I originally was taking apart had finished seams that I thought were great and I wanted to try them. I cut out facing for the neck and the arm openings for the light green, fusible interfacing, and the ironed them together. I then sewed together, the shoulders of the dress, the facings of the neck, and the neck facing to the dress. After pressing the seam allowance to the facing side of the seam and sewing it down 1/4″ from the seam. I then clipped the seam allowance and hand tacked the facing in 8 places.

At this point I had not sew the sides of the dress together but I had sew the arm facings together. I sewed the facing to the dress and followed the same technique I used for the neck. I then sewed up the side seams, tripped and hemmed the bottom of the dress. It was ready to wear to work.

The finishing of this dress I must say is the best that I have done thus far and I will be using this technique again.

I like this design and will probably make another one soon from other materials in the Collection. 

Leave a comment