Black Flowers in Blue

In the Collection there are pieces and parts of former projects and failed experiments. This is one of the former failed experiments.

The Stats:

  • Blue Moo-Moo: $3, 100% Cotton
    • Total Cost $3

I fell in love with the color and thought it would make a great skirt and top (as seen in the picture). I accomplished both the skirt and shirt. Both did not end well. The shirt was a little short and made me look shorter than I am.  The skirt had an 11 inch slit up the side and made me very uncomfortable so I didn’t wear it.

Recently I found both in the Collection once again and knew I needed to remake them again. I disassembled both and then thought about what I wanted to make. In the Collection there is a shirt that I love but the fabric is old and does not clean well. So I took it a part and used it as the pattern for this new shirt.

I made the pattern pieces and then cut out the material. I then pinned the darts and sewed them first, long ago lesson learned.

I then sewed the shoulders together and finished the neck line with turned bias tape which I made. Then finished the arm openings the same way, then sewed the side seams together. The final steps were to attach the peplum, and hem the bottom. Ta-Da, new shirt and I LOVE the color.

It seems this month is starting a blue theme and it will continue. I am worried because I have many blue items in the Collection, check back to see what other blues I can find.

Leave a comment