Ruffle Refashion on a Roll!

I am on a ruffle roll! Two peplums in 3 days and I found this  partially disassembled dress in the Collection, so it became the next to be refashioned.

4

The Stats:

  • Navy Dress: $6, 100% Cotton
    • Total $6

Like usual I disassembled the dress the rest of the way because I knew what I was going to make. I started with the ruffles because they were mostly complete and only needed a little tweaking.

I took the apart and cut the bottom one three inches shorter to the ruffle edges were closer together. Then I set them aside, they will be the last thing to be attached to the skirt.2

I put the dress on the dress form to figure out where I could add more fabric to accommodate my bum without it appearing as if I added fabric. I realized quickly that I needed to sew closed the front edge with the button holes in order to make the rest of the skirt the right size.

I measured and added fabric to add at the back and also measured for the length where the ruffles would be added, right above the knee.

6.jpg

Now I needed a zipper added and a waist band. I found the zipper I needed in the Collection and I made a template for a waist band. I cut the material, facing, sewed them together and added them to the skirt. Then it was time to add the zipper.

5

Finally it was time to add the ruffles back on to the skirt, and all the finishing touches. I added all the bottom back to the skirt and the waist band.

3

The skirt is ready to wear however I have no shirt to wear with it. I want a white shirt, so, back to the Collection to find something to make.

Leave a comment