Paisley Dress

Sometimes I just get ideas and I don’t know where they come from, this dress is one of those ideas. It came to me while I was in a meeting, so I sketched it.

I then had to go to the Collection to find the right items to make this dress from.

The Stats:

  • Top Shinny: 100% Polyester (it is scratchy), $3
  • Paisley Dress: 100% Rayon, $4
    • Total: $7

I started with the top, which was once a night dress or house dress. I started by sewing two darts all the way from the shoulder to the bottom on the front face of the bodice.

I then disassembled the paisley dress. I needed to make the skirt 8 inches longer and a waist band. I used the bodice of the dress to make the additional 8 inches and the waist band. I used the the original skirt as is, and it has pockets! I am so happy as I didn’t need to do it myself.

I went back to the bodice and cut it off at the natrual waist and made sure to sew closed the zipper before anything else so it would not come undone and I would not have to replace it.

1

I then put fusible interfacing on the waist band and sewed it on.

2

The I attached the skirt and finished the arms with paisley binding fabric. Can now wait for spring to wear this dress out!

10

Now I can start working on my summer wardrobe see what comes out of the Collection next.

11

 

2 thoughts on “Paisley Dress

Leave a comment