Fun Spring Dress

April is a little more than half over and I have finally started to get back into the swing of sewing. I started this dress because I needed something to wear when I went home for Easter.  This project was one where I truly have no idea why I purchased the original items and made the part of the Collection, but here they are.

The States:

  • Red Dress: 100% Rayon, $5
  • Black Dress: 50% Rayon/ 50% Acetate, $4
    • Total $9

I disassembled both dresses and ironed all the pieces. Then started on the bodice. The top of the red dress was too big but I didn’t want to put a lot of darts in it so I folded the back and took in the sides slightly.

9

Part of the black dress; the blue section and some of the black were cut it into 2 inch strips. I wanted to use the white as well but it had some weird stains on it, which would not come out. The white part was processed and will become part of my fabric yarn. I wanted to make the waist of this dress pronounced so I just strips of the black dress and added them together to create the waist.

After adding the waist band to the top of the bodice I went and inserted the sleeves. These were the original from the black dress. Thankfully I had my head on enough to make a pattern of them.

7

Next, I moved on to the skirt. First I cut off the facing where the buttons were and cut a swath of black to add into the skirt front.

I attached the skirt to the bodice, and the dress was done. I could wear it for Easter Sunday.

1

Another fun dress for summer! PS. A big THANKS goes to my father for taking pictures on this one!!

10.jpg

I have a few larger pieces of black going back to the Collection but all the red is gone! I am slowly paring down… what will I work on next?!

Leave a comment