Velvet Bear

Every year I try to give my sister a birthday gift that she will not get from anyone else. This does not always work, and let me tell you they are NEVER on time. This year is no exception. I am nearly a whole month late on getting this to her…but I will finally see her next week! I was unsure of what I wanted to give her until I bought a pattern for the RARE BEAR Army.  I have started to put aside fabric from the Collection that I think will make good bears. While I was sorting fabric I came across a few dresses that I forgot that I had. (blush) The first dress I am using has inspired me in a few ways but here is the first.

The Stats:

  • Green dress: Bodice 100% Velvet/ Skirt 100% Polyester, $7.50
    • Total: $7.50

I started by taking the skirt off, I knew that I didn’t want to use that for this project so I set it back in the Collection. I deconstructed the entire bodice, both the shell and the lining. I did this so I could make a pattern of it.

4

Once disassembled, I cut out all the pattern pieces that I needed and started sewing (yes I followed the directions). Shortly thereafter I was ready to stuff the bear. I decided that I wanted the bear to be relaxing so I added lavender to the bear. I threw it in as I was stuffing. Every 4th stuffing blob got approximately 1 teaspoon of lavender. (It now has a powerful smell and will be traveling with me inside a plastic bag.)

I sewed up the stuffing holes (per the directions), added the eyes and nose. I thought it needed something more so I gave it a necklace of lace.

So, Happy (VERY) Belated Birthday to my sister!

 

One thought on “Velvet Bear

Leave a comment