Blue Hawaii

This project has inspired me to listen to Elvis music. Truth be told Blue Hawaii is my least favorite Elvis song/movie. My favorite is Elvis’ Trouble from the King Creole movie. Even so, this original piece is very much Blue Hawaii, and it was originally made in Hawaii!

The Stats:

  • Dress: 100% Nylon, $6
    • Total: $6

I already tried to make it into a shirt once, which did not work, and I think I wore it 3 times. I was digging around my closet and found some items that need a readjustment, this is the first.

I took both pieces of the original dress apart and ironed them. I cut out the pieces of a pattern that I made originally. I did revise the pattern by adding a few inches to the bottom of the peplum.

2

I hated working with this fabric, it was fraying the whole time. It was so frustrating that I nearly threw out the project half way through. I decided that in order to stop the fraying I put in French seams. (That was a challenge.)

I then put darts in the front and then finished the bottom hem. Finally ready to wear!

7

Leave a comment