Cutting Board

I know I usually write about sewing or beading but this weekend I had a new adventure and I am eager to share it with you.

My father found an old butcher block that had not been loved for a while but he asked if I would want. I free butcher block! Heck yes!! Even if it needed a little love. So I collected my tools and started.

I am very happy that my parents have all the tools I needed. Always remember safety first. Both my dad and I started to sand. Beginning with a 40 grit sandpapers and removed all the black stains from the wood. I then sanded with 60, 80 and finally a sanding block of 180.

After all the sanding was done I oiled the board, all surfaces, to ensure the long life of the board. I love the look and it fits exactly on my counter and I use it every day! This was a quick afternoon project that I would very willingly do again.

2

 

Leave a comment