Halloween 2017

Once again it is Halloween!!! I LOVE this holiday, it is my favorite and this year’s costume was inspired by New Year’s Goal #1. In August I finally finished the “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon”. I then went on to read The Escapist also by Michael Chabon. After reading I found a character that I wanted to be for Halloween. These are all the clues I am going to give until the end product, any guesses?

KAC

As usual I am using items from the Collection to create this costume here is what I found that I can use:

31

The Stats:

  • Teal Suit: 45% Cotton, 30% Polyester, 25% Rayon, $4
  • Light Teal Fabric: 100% Polyester, $6 (Partial)
  • Light Teal Skirt: 100% Polyester, $3 (Partial)
    • Total: $13

 

I start to disassemble the suite and get the pattern ready. I learned a lot about this patter but more on that later. I thought that Halloween night might be cold, so I chose  a more total body costume with thicker fabric feel so I could stay warm.

I laid out the pieces, both the exterior and the lining.

After sewing them all together I learned a very important thing about this pattern. I used the back panel of the pattern that determines which of the sizes to cut out. Once I sewed it all together I realized that it was one panel too wide.  I had to remove the last panel at the back to make it fit correctly. Lesson learned: not all the patterns are correct.

I then started to put pleats in the skirt and add it to the bodice.

20

I finished by putting the straps and wings on the bodice. The accessories I purchased or made and from the Collection I found gold ribbon which I turned in to a head band.

14

I finished almost a week before Halloween!! That is a first as I usually finish as I am walking out the door.

9

Luna Moth!

We had a great night! Check out the other costumes that I made in 2017.

Leave a comment