Society Sunday: Spring Has Sprung!

Morning has broken, like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken, like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for the springing fresh from the world.

-Cat Stevens

This song always come to my heart every spring and this year is no different. Not only is it very sunny, but the new year is flying into place. I have been working the whittle down the Collection and I have been doing that with the fabric yarn very well. I however ran into some problems with having pieces that were too small for fabric yarn so I decided to use them a different way: Crazy Quilt Squares!

This project was a few Society Sunday’s, during which I was the only one in attendance…again: Solo Sunday.

With the cleaning and moving of my studio I started with the quilt squares from all the scraps I found that were small. (To be honest, I am getting some from my mother as well, so I have A LOT.)

Thankfully my friend Robert always gives me his old sheets that were no long good for a bed but extremely useful for backing of quilt squares. I cut the sheets into 6 X 6 inch squares, I cut out about 50 of them.

These progression pictures are of only a few blocks that I made. The process for each is the same however.

  • Place center pentagon (do not sew).5
  • Sew the first side and center pentagon right sides together on to the base material.
  • Continue this pattern either clock wise or counter clock wise
  • Continued pattern and placement…
  • I added some striped already sewn together materials
  • Keep working the pattern until the stabilizing square is totally covered.
  • Cutting the final sides to the 6″ square pattern

I made over 60 of these squares and still have more fabric to go, but here are more some examples.

I also wanted to get rid of some of the bigger pieces that were too small for one project but could be used as parts of quilts. I wanted to try a herringbone pattern so I did:

1

I took some of those same long strips and sewed them together in a different pattern.

2

I now had to decide what size baby quilt I was going to make. The traditional dimensions of a baby blanket are 30 X 40 inches, and 36 X 52 inches for a crib blanket. I opted for the  30 X 40 inch. I set off on the usual batting, quilting, and backing part of the project. I finished the edge by using the back material as the binding. I like the way it turned out.

13

I had one family in mind for this blanket and thankfully I was finished before the baby was born! I was a little worried that I would not be able to finish it in time.

This is the first project where nothing is going back to the Collection. Check back to see what the scraps from the Collection finally turn into and what is given away.

Leave a comment